top of page

Meet Adriana from Poms

Adriana and kids.jpg

Name, pronouns and star sign? 

My name is Adriana. I identify as she/her. I am a Cancer, with a Pisces moon and Virgo rising :)


Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?

I grew up in Hong Kong, New Zealand and Korea, and now live in Naarm, Australia.


How has your upbringing shaped your creative practice?

My upbringing informed my practice so much; I grew up in Seoul and frequented all types of fabric markets, among other things, and watched my mum make the most incredible clothes. She would go to balls and get incredibly dressed up; I was obsessed with this garment creation from an early age. My Mum and Nonna taught me how to make clothes and knit, as well as crochet. I love that I have these skills that will always connect me to them.



What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

My family inspires most of what I do. As well as the connection to skills that they passed onto me. When I'm creating jewellery, I am always drawn to pieces that my Mum, Nonna or sister would have worn. I love that you can pass jewellery down, and it tells a story. The same with the eyewear, some frames are based on shapes my Mum wore when I was younger. I feel a great sense of nostalgia and sentimentality. I’m also super inspired by the 90s as it was an era that I grew up in. There were so many clothes and brands that I loved and I couldn't afford, so now I feel like I am creating pieces that I would have worn back then and still want to wear now.


What turns you off?

Bad behaviour, lack of respect, rudeness.


What does community mean to you?

Community is everything; I think you realise this, even more, when you have kids. It takes a village, and you really find your people when you have children. Everyone needs support no matter what era of their life they are in, and the community provides this. 


What’s your dream collaboration?

I would love to collaborate with Anna Sui, Marc Jacobs, Sofia Coppola, Zoe Cassevettes or Chloe Sevigny.


If your label/art was a…


… song? 

Madonna - Human Nature.


… meal?

It’s too hard to choose one – chicken parma, gnocchi, chocolate chip cookies, Peking duck pancakes, Molokhia.


… smell?

Core 'Ngrato by Essenzialmente Laura.


… human?

My kids: Valentina (7 years old) and Enzo (5 years old).


… designer piece? 

Vintage Miu Miu Cowboy Boots, or anything from Prada SS96 or Michael Kors 1994, vintage MilkFed, Hysteric Glamour, or X-Girl.

Screen Shot 2021-05-29 at 4.23.56 pm.png

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received? 

Pivot or pursue. 

What’s the best advice you’ve ever given? 

I teach part-time at RMIT university in the fashion stream, so I feel like l give a lot of advice! The best thing you can do is stay true to yourself, make what you want to wear and enjoy what you do so that your work is always as fun as possible.

Accessories HIGH RES- 2000px 300ppi018.j
bottom of page